Literary Award Sites


    Booker Prize - This award is given to the writer of the best novel published in English by a citizen of the United Kingdom or Republic of Ireland.  The Booker Prize has been awarded annually since 1968.

    National Book Awards - The National Book Foundation has presented this award since 1950 to authors of outstanding books in a variety of genres.

    National Book Critics Circle Award - Awarded annually, the National Book Critics Circle recognizes the finest books published in English in fiction and nonfiction.

    Nobel Prize in Literature Site - This website lists the award winners from 1901 to the present.

    Pulitzer Prize - The Pulitzer Prize was first awarded in 1917, and this website lists the winners in their various categories since that time.


    Agatha Awards - The Agatha Awards recognize excellent "traditional mysteries" published in the United States. 

    Edgar Awards - The Mystery Writers of America bestow the Edgar Allan Poe Award upon writers in several categories of fiction and nonfiction.

    Shamus Awards - The Private Eye Writers of America, founded in 1981, gives this award for hardcover, paperback, and short story mysteries.  Winners are listed from 1982 to present.

    Science Fiction

    Hugo Awards - This website has extensive listings of prize winners in various categories, including graphic novels, nonfiction, and screenplays.  Science fiction fans will find plenty of reading choices here.